Ways to Handle a Ticket

COMPLIANCE DISMISSALS

​Some cases for specific violations may be dismissed depending on various legal circumstances.  Usually if the violation is fixed and/or proof is shown by the appearance date on your citation, the case can be dismissed. If you have received a citation for violations involving expired driver's license, vehicle registration (late penalty must be paid to your county tax office), fail to display driver's license, violation of driver license restriction A, only one license plate, or no registration (insignia issued before citation), you may be eligible for dismissal if you present proof that you have corrected the violation within 20 business days after receiving the citation.  View the list below for information on common violations associated with compliance dismissals, as well as necessary proof and court fines associated with the dismissal. There may be other legal circumstances or violations that may be dismissed upon showing proof or bringing into compliance; however, please obtain the services of an attorney licensed in Texas to obtain legal advice. Municipal court clerks cannot provide legal advice. Compliance Dismissals list: CLICK HERE TO VIEW.


DRIVING SAFETY COURSE REQUESTS (DSC)


If you are charged with a traffic offense under the Subtitle C, Transportation Code, before your appearance date, you may request the Driving Safety Course / Defensive Driving. Requests can be submitted in person, online, or by mail.

Online Requests

Driving Safety Requests are now available to submit online. This process eliminates traveling to the court office to submit your paperwork. If you are interested in requesting Driving Safety online download the
Driving Safety Request form and apply at https://www.municipalonlinepayments.com/rollingwoodtx


In Person / By Mail Requests
In order to request your Driving Safety Course by mail, you are required to submit the following:
  1. Submit a written request to take a Driving Safety Course (you may utilize the back of your citation for this purpose) or mail in the Driving Safety Request form.
  2. Submit a copy of your valid Texas Driver's License.
  3. Provide Proof of financial responsibility/insurance. You must be a listed driver and the insurance must be valid on the day of request.
  4. Submit a cashier's check or money order, made payable to the "Rollingwood Municipal Court", in the amount of the appropriate court fees: $109.10. REQUESTS MUST BE RECEIVED OR POSTMARKED WITHIN 20 BUSINESS DAYS FROM THE DATE OF THE VIOLATION. If you request the Driving Safety Course after your appearance date on the citation, you will be required to pay a $174.10. Contact the court first. Rollingwood Municipal court does NOT accept personal or business checks.
  5. Enter a plea of guilty or no contest (you may utilize the back of your ticket for this purpose).
  6. Your request must be received or post marked prior to the scheduled appearance date (the appearance date is listed on the citation). Once you are approved by the Municipal Court, you will receive a confirmation letter via mail along with further instructions for completing your requirements. 
Your Driving Safety confirmation letter will include the following:
  1. Your due date to complete the Driving Safety Course (90 day period).
  2. A website for the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.
  3. Instructions for requesting your certified driving record (Version 3A) or non-certified (Version 3) from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
  4. It is your responsibility to sign up for a course once you received your confirmation. You may take it online, in a classroom or by video.
Compliance 
If you complete and submit a uniformed certificate of a driving safety course and a certified driving record from DPS (Version 3A)  or non-certified (Version 3) NO LATER THAN your 90 days, the charge against you will be dismissed.

Failure to Comply
If you fail to present a uniformed certificate of a driving safety course and a certified driving record within the 90 day period, you will be required to appear at a show cause hearing. Notice of this hearing will be sent to the last known address you provided to the court. If you fail to appear at the show cause hearing, the court will impose the fine, enter a conviction, and a capias pro fine will be issued for your arrest. If you decide you cannot complete the conditions, you may pay the balance owed; this will result in a final conviction on your driving record.


DEFERRED DISPOSITION


Deferred Disposition options are available to those who are eligible.  If all terms required by the court are successfully met, the case will be dismissed. If any requirements are not met and you cannot provide a satisfactory reason at a hearing before a judge, you will be found guilty and a conviction reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

WAYS TO PAY A CITATION

Notice: Drivers who are convicted of one or more of the following traffic offenses, including but not limited to, driving without insurance, driving while license invalid or driving without a license, will pay a yearly surcharge for three years from the date each conviction is reported to Department of Public Safety. Please refer to the Texas Department of Public Safety Driver Responsibility Program for further information. 
Website: www.txdps.state.tx.us/driverlicense/drp.htm.


Pay Online

  • View fees or pay online with our online bill payment
  • Only full payments, payments on previously approved payment plans, DSC requests, and previously approved Deferred Dispositions may be paid online.

Pay in Person

  • Please bring a valid proof of identification.
  • Cash
  • Credit card (Visa, Discover, Master Card, American Express). A 3% processing fee will be charged on all credit/debit transactions
  • Cashier's check
  • Money order
  • Please bring a valid proof of identification.
Pay by Mail

  • Send your payment to: Rollingwood Municipal Court - 403 Nixon Drive, Rollingwood, TX 78746
  • Provide a your Citation number or a copy of the citation
  • Money orders and cashiers checks are accepted. (No personal checks)
  • Do not send cash.

UNPAID CASES

 
After 90 days unpaid cases are sent to Perdue, Brandon, Fielder, Collins & Mott, LLP (PBFCM) for collections. PBFCM can be reached at 866-870-8565. www.pbfcm.com 

Information on inspections and registration stickers becoming 1 - www.twostepsonesticker.com 

If you suspect that your driver's license has been denied due to a failure to appear / failure to pay you will need to contact OmniBase client services at 800-686-0570 or Texas Department of Public Safety at 512-424-2600.